In January 2020, Green Light Driving Academy announced a partnership agreement with Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD allowing GLDA to provide driver education expertise & services to the parents & students of Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD.
The GLDA staff was joined by EMS-ISD's experienced staff of driving instructors & classroom educators. GLDA continues to offer traditional teen drivers education courses on EMS-ISD's high school campuses and have added an authorized DPS Road Test route. We also offer several other online services for the teens and adults living in the area.
Green Light Driving Academy is excited for the continued opportunities and look forward to serving the students & parents in the Eagle Mountain - Saginaw ISD area.
From an educational standpoint, separating the classroom portion from the behind-the-wheel instruction by several months creates a huge disconnect. GLDA instructors attempt to connect the classroom instruction with real world experiences and then take those connections and develop in-car habits and skills that last a lifetime. Additionally, some students are not ready for the maturity level of some of the subject matter of the course. (car crashes, drinking and drugs etc.)
Teen driver education classes are open to teens age 14-18. According to Texas state law, Students may begin the classroom session at age 14, but Green Light Driving Academy recommends that student wait until 15 years old if possible. Students may not begin behind-the-wheel instruction until age 15 & hold a valid learner's license (learner's permit).
More information below in our FAQs
Where is GLDA located?
GLDA's corporate office in Roanoke that supports several “drive only” locations in Grapevine, Coppell, & Saginaw (EMS-ISD). Drive lessons will begin & end at:
To receive a drivers license, who is required to complete a driver education course?
I want to take a driver education course, what are the course options?
You may use the following options:
What is a Zoom Class?
How much do the driver education courses cost?
What methods of payment does GLDA accept?
How long is the teen driver education course? TX Dept of Licensing & Regulation Requirements
What are the timelines to complete a teen driver education course?
When can my teen obtain a learner license (learner permit)?
When can my teen obtain a Provisional License?
At what age can a person begin a driver education course at GLDA?
(GLDA suggests students are at least 14 1/2 years old.)
If my teen misses a class or classes of driver education , can they make up those hours?
1. $14.95 – Online drive lesson Schedule Fee- One-time Fee payable to Schedule2Drive, Houston, TX. – all students who drive with GLDA instructors must pay this fee. The Schedule2Drive online drive lesson scheduling system provides:
2. $16- DPS fee for learner’s license (instruction permit) – payable to Texas Dept. of Public Safety
3. Premier Lesson Scheduling- GLDA's optional service. GLDA staff will schedule drive lessons for your teen. PREMIER SCHEDULING DETAILS
4. RETURNED CHECK – INSUFFICIENT FUNDS FEE: $45.00
5. DRIVE TIME – NO-SHOW/LATE CANCELLATION FEE: $50.00
6. REPLACEMENT OF DE-964 (COURSE COMPLETION CERTIFICATE): $25.00
7. REPLACEMENT OF DADAP CERTIFICATE (DRUG AND ALCOHOL AWARENESS DRIVING PROGRAM): $10.00
***Green Light Driving Academy is an authorized 3rd Party Testing Site. Green Light Driving Academy does not represent the TX Dept. of Public Safety or claim to be a state agency or entity. The TX Dept. of Public Safety or any government agency or entity does not endorse Green Light Driving Academy or ANY 3rd Party Testing Site. Green Light Driving Academy cannot issue a Texas driver license or influence the issuance of a driver license. Green Light Driving Academy or ANY 3rd Party Testing Site does not receive any preferential treatment from the TX Department of Public Safety.***
CORPORATE MAILING ADDRESS:
PO BOX 67
PARADISE, TX 76073
TDLR License # c1728; c1728a; c1728b
© Green Light Driving Academy - 2023